Changes to Angolan national holidays

The National Assembly has approved a new National Holidays law that reduces the number of national holidays but introduces national celebration days.

Fixed holidays are: January 1 (New Year), February 4 (Beginning of liberation struggle), March 8 (International women’s day), April 4 (Peace and national reconciliation day). May 1 (Worker’s day), September 17 (National Hero’s day), November 2 (All Souls’ Day), November 11 (Independence Day) and December 25 (Christmas).

Moveable holidays are Carnival and Good Friday.

Working national celebration days are: January 4, March 2 (Angolan Women Day), March 15 (National liberation struggle expansion day), April 14 (Angolan youth day), May 25 (Africa  day), June 1 (World child day) and December 10 (International human rights day)


Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: